The City of Southport

Board of Adjustment

Meetings are held the fourth Tuesday of the month as needed

4:30 p.m.

Fire Department Substation
111 E. Nash Street
City of Southport, NC  28461

Board of Adjustment Committee Members

Members are appointed for three year terms.

ZONING BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT COMMITTEE 

APPOINTED
1 Frank Popelars,Chairman  popelars@ec.rr.com 1023 Captain Adkins Drive 454-9608 December 20,
2018
ETJ
2 Mr. Harley Lemons, Vice-Chairman harley7174@gmail.com 6228 Navigator Way 457-0067H 352-7174C July 14, 2016 CITY
3 Lisa Fosbury
lmfosbury@aol.com
120 W.Moore Street 477-2743H
919-523-0337C
January 2017 CITY
4 Jennifer Fontaine

fontaine.jenna@gmail.com

5223 Shipmast Way 547-1737 December 20,
2018
CITY
5 Thomas Lombardi

thomaslombardi8@gmail.com

5021 Oarlock Court 363-4831 December 20,
2018
CITY
6 Vacant ETJ
7 Matt Green
mgreencfe@gmail.com
222 E. Moore Street 214-6201 December 20,
2018
CITY
8 Vacant ETJ ALT.
9 Pete Haislip
petehaislip@gmail.com
309 E. Bay
Street
540-520-1651 June 2017 CITY ALT.
10 Thomas Lloyd

thomas_lloyd@southportnc.org

1029 N. Howe Street Southport, N.C. 28461 457-7961 Staff, Planner
11 Tanya Shannon

tanya_shannon@southportnc.org

1029 N. Howe Street Southport, N.C. 28461 457-7929 Staff, Deputy City Clerk
12 B. Wayne Strickland

wayne_strickland@southporthportnc.org

1029 N. Howe Street Southport, N.C. 28461 457-7925H  617-6182C Staff, Building Inspector

Board of Adjustment

In general, the board of adjustment is the body established to:

  • Hear appeals of decisions rendered by zoning administrators
  • Interpret unclear provisions in the zoning ordinance
  • Decide on applications by landowners to permit buildings or land uses which vary from the zoning regulations